Haymarket Center


AdmissionThe purpose of the assessment is to determine the most appropriate level of care for the patient using ASAM (American Society of Addiction Medicine) criteria. The patient’s family, social, financial, medical, and psychiatric histories, as well as a current physical assessment are included in each assessment conducted by the department.


The Central Intake Admissions Department receives a large volume of calls each day. Based upon an initial phone screen, some of these callers may be deemed more appropriate for another treatment agency or another type of service and are referred to such.



Levels of Care

Many organizations, including managed care organizations, have developed guidelines regarding levels of care to be used in treating AOD abuse. The ASAM's four levels of care for AOD abuse treatment are described in Patient Placement Criteria for the Treatment of Psychoactive.

Substance Use Disorders (Hoffman et al. 1991).

  • Level 1
  • Level 2
  • Level 3
  • Level 3.7

CARF Accreditation | Mental Health First Aid Certified | HIPAA Privacy Statement | IL, SUPR, National Outcome Measures

| Priority Admission Statement | Locations

Complete a Stakeholders Survey